Operation Wanderlust

I could talk about the budget… but given the state of things, it’s probably better if I focus on my upcoming trip out of the country and the (blissfully minor) problems it’s causing.

Example: how on earth does a person who knits as much as I do find herself bereft of an appropriate pair of gloves, come a trip to the northern hemisphere? It’s honestly not like I haven’t done this before. Perhaps I can knit some in London, which will hopefully be long before I need them.

Ordinarily I would be cheering myself up with the prospect of my destination being warmer than my point of origin, as my darling Melbourne has been none too warm (or dry) over the past week*. Except that my second stop is Iceland. I’m pretty sure** that even when it’s pushing summer, Iceland is not going to produce any temperatures that my antipodean self would recognise as mild weather. That said, it’s not going to be all that much colder during the day in Iceland than during the night in Melbourne, and while admittedly I’ll be up and about instead of curled into a tight ball under several doonas, Melbourne does have a distinct lack of glaciers.

 

14152614246_8fc1f201f2_b

Also I have lopapeysa anxiety and I have no idea if this makes me conscientious or a complete knob. When I knitted my Riddari pullovers (yes, I actually made two and no, I don’t need you to judge me about the fact that they use the same main colour because the Boy has already poked ample fun at the whole thing) I didn’t actually have the faintest clue that I would be visiting Iceland. I want to bring my pullovers with me because, frankly, Iceland is cold and they’re some of the warmest things I own. But I also feel somewhat weird about wearing them in Iceland. Thoughts floating around in my head include: a) guilt over using stash yarn instead of Lopi, b) will people judge me for my choice of contrast colours, and of course, c) uh oh, does this count as cultural appropriation and if so am I a terrible person and does it still count if I made it myself and perhaps it if is cultural appropriation then it’s really no better doing it in Melbourne than in Iceland and wow I am super behind on self loathing.

Ahem. I probably worry about these things too much. At least today I had biscuits to distract me. It was my brother’s birthday and I have been waiting for this occasion for quite a while for one very specific baking-related reason:

10172723_10152452240694396_3977257091812293250_n

Yep. Domo biscuits. I followed the recipe here (though I used the icebox cookie dough that the author links to at the start of the recipe) and was very happy with the outcome. They were very well received as well!

And now I should really go and finish my packing. If anyone needs me, I’ll be in London doing my best to eat my bodyweight in Bendicks Bittermints, my #1 favourite UK treat. They’re like being punched in the face with a minty fist. What’s not to love?

 

*though of course that’s set to change as soon as I leave. Thanks, Melbourne.

**and by “pretty sure” I mean I am depending entirely on Wikipedia and a 1994 edition of Lonely Planet.

Leave a Reply

